Note

Please always call for availability! Classes fill up quickly and some drop out or choose a later date.

Conceal Carry Course Information

$150 non-member / $135 member / PIR has certified over 1,400 students.

South Carolina requires all residents who wish to carry a concealed weapon to participate in this class with state certified instructors.  Many neighboring residents of Georgia have taken this class due to the importance of the skills and knowledge gained during  the program.
You are concerned about safety and you shop around for the right hand gun and caliber for your needs. You find what you think you will need and buy it.  You may read about using a handgun, but most people think that they know the basics from what they have heard, so they don’t bother.  Then the time comes that you need to use that new gun for defense.  What do you do?  Is it loaded?  Where is it?  Will pointing and pulling the trigger be enough? Is the adrenaline in your body adding to your confusion since you have never fired the gun, or even practiced with it?

This is the reason that this class is so popular with out of state shooters.  You learn common-sense rules and valuable gun safety in a relaxed but safe atmosphere.  The course incorporates many of the NRA marksmanship programs.

Palmetto Indoor Range’s CWP Classes are very extensive and very popular. Hence, the classes tend to fill up months in advance. Please call 843-784-5474 to check course availability and to make a reservation. A non-refundable deposit of $75.00 per person is required to reserve your seat for the class selected. If for any reason you cannot not make it to your scheduled class, we will gladly re-schedule you for another open date. REMEMBER, YOUR DEPOSIT IS NON-REFUNDABLE. Call 843-784-5474.

Since the course also requires you to shoot a 50 round qualifier, our Chief Firearms Instructor highly recommends that you visit our range at least one or two times prior to taking the class to practice. Questions? Call 843-784-5474.

Click the map to learn more about handgun laws in the United States.

Requirements

EACH STUDENT WILL BE REQUIRED TO BRING THE FIREARM (12’’ OR LESS ACROSS ITS DIAGONAL) HE OR SHE WILL BE USING TO QUALIFY, OR RENT ONE FROM OUR SELECTION OF OVER 125 HANDGUNS.  ALSO REQUIRED, 50 ROUNDS OF AMMUNITION.  YOU CAN PURCHASE ALL OF YOUR SUPPLIES AT THE RANGE.

After the class paperwork

At the completion of the course you will be given a certificate that will be your proof of completion of the course. A copy of this document will be required when you submit your South Carolina Conceal Carry permit application. Note the following other items required.

2 Fingerprint cards (must be completed by a law enforcement officer. Now available at PIR for $20.00.
Certified Check or Money order payable to S.L.E.D. for $50
Copy of your driver’s license.

Class Schedule & Availability

Updated: October 15, 2016

SATURDAY JAN 21TH

SATURDAY FEB 18TH

SATURDAY MARCH 18TH

SATURDAY APRIL 15TH

SATURDAY MAY 20TH

CWP Classes offered every month on the third Saturday. Due to demand additional classes are being offered.

Fingerprinting is now being offered at the time of class for your convenience.